The Bridges of Madison County

Music & Lyrics by Jason Robert Brown |
Book by Marsha Norman | Directed by Bartlett Sher
Location: The Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre, 236 West 45th Street
Running Time: 2 hours, 30 minutes, one intermission
First Preview: January 17, 2014
Opening Night: February 20, 2014
Final Performance: May 18, 2014

The Bridges of Madison County, the story about a devoted Iowa housewife and her unlikely love affair with a National Geographic photographer has inspired seven of the theater’s most distinguished artists to create a new Broadway musical.

Bridges features music and lyrics by Tony Award-winner Jason Robert Brown (Parade, The Last Five Years)and a book by Tony Award and Pulitzer Prize-winner Marsha Norman (‘night Mother, The Color Purple, The Secret Garden). It will be directed by Tony Award-winner Bartlett Sher (The Light in the Piazza, Awake and Sing, Golden Boy), who reunites with his celebrated Tony Award-winning South Pacific design team, including scenic design by Michael Yeargan, costume design by Catherine Zuber, and lighting design by Donald Holder. Sound design is by Jon Weston (How to Succeed…, The Color Purple).


PRESS RESOURCES (password may be required)


Official Website
Tickets & Performance Schedule

Cast & Creative Team

Kelli O’Hara (Francesca)
Steven Pasquale (Robert)
Whitney Bashor (Marian/Chiara)
Hunter Foster (Bud)
Caitlin Kinnunen (Carolyn)

Derek Klena (Michael)
Michael X. Martin (Charlie)
Cass Morgan (Marge)
Ephie Aardema (Ensemble)
Jennifer Allen (Ensemble)
Katie Klaus (Ensemble, State Fair Singer)
Luke Marinkovich (Ensemble, Paolo)
Aaron Ramey (Ensemble)
Dan Sharkey (Ensemble)
Charlie Franklin (Swing)
Jessica Vosk (Swing)
Tim Wright (Swing)

Based on the novel by Robert James Waller
Marsha Norman (Book)
Jason Robert Brown (Music, Lyrics, and Orchestration)
Tom Murray (Musical Director)
Bartlett Sher (Director)
Danny Mefford (Movement)
Michael Yeargan (Scenic Design)
Catherine Zuber (Costume Design)
Donald Holder (Lighting Design)
Jon Weston (Sound Design)

Awards & Nominations

Kelli O’Hara, Best Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role in a Musical
Jason Robert Brown, Best Original Score (Music and/or Lyrics) Written for the Theatre
Jason Robert Brown, Best Orchestrations
Don Holder, Best Lighting Design of a Musical

Outstanding Musical
Steven Pasquale, Outstanding Actor in a Musical
Kelli O’Hara, Outstanding Actress in a Musical
Bartlett Sher, Outstanding Director of a Musical
Jason Robert Brown, Outstanding Music (WINNER)
Jason Robert Brown, Outstanding Lyrics
Jason Robert Brown, Outstanding Orchestrations (WINNER)
Marsha Norman, Outstanding Book of a Musical
Jon Weston, Outstanding Sound Design in a Musical

Outstanding Production of a Broadway or Off-Broadway Musical
Kelli O’Hara, Distinguished Performance Award nomination
Steven Pasquale, Distinguished Performance Award nomination

Kelli O’Hara, Outstanding Actress in a Musical
Jason Robert Brown, Outstanding New Score (WINNER)